Graphs: Adding displacement to the mesh by using graphs

Hello everyone!

Holidays have finished and here we are again to post new graph tool. Sometimes we want to apply our displacement map to the mesh so the render can be faster only rendering the mesh and not applying the displacement map in the render process. In that case, we can mesh the particles by using the apply displacement option inside RealFlow, but sometimes we forget to do it and simulate again the mesh and applying the displacement could be a long process. By using graphs, we can apply  the displacement maps we want in the folder we want, to the mesh we want as well. In order to do that,

– just open a new RealFlow scene

– Open the Simulation Flow and load the graph

– Change the paths in the graph and the settings you need, like tiles.

– Simulate.

This process is very faster, and you don’t need to create a mesh node if you don’t want. The mesh node is only to display the mesh in the viewport.

applying_displacement_to_mesh

The graph can be downloaded from here or it can be alse downloaded from RealFlow resources 

Enjoy RealFlow 2013.

luisM.

5 comments

  1. Ey Luis, Very nice and usefull tip! I like it.
    I have some questions for you, i am doing a large scale simulation, i have done my simulation, and meshed with displacement but…..I do not know the best way to do the ocean extension for my shot, can you tell me what is the best workflow to do this?.
    Greetings.😉

    1. Hi Ivan😉

      The best way to that is creating the area to create where the action is happening in your scene. So, once you have created the scene, you’ll export out the displacement maps as well. I advice you to do this in a duplicated scene with the same settings you have for the original one, but without any interaction with objects and changing the resolution with a bigger value. It will be only to calculate the displacement maps, so the particles are not necessary in this process. Once you have simulated your scene, and you have the displacement maps (you will be able to tile this maps), you’ll import the scene in your 3d package and creating planes around the main mesh with the displacement you simulated in the low resolution scene. Obviously, the original scene must have the same displacement. You can render the planes to extend the sea in a sequence and the action scene in another sequence. Next, with some software of post production like Nuke, you can blend both sequences, where the cutting areas between them are visible.

      luisM.

      1. Hi Luis, really I do not know if I’m understanding you correctly.
        1) I made a low-resolution simulation.
        2) I have exported my displacement maps.
        3) I did the meshing of my simulation & exported my mesh to 3DMax
        then i create a plane with my displacement map applied.
        and after render my plane have not the same displacement that my realflow mesh.

  2. Hi luis,just so that its clear to me this graph add an oss pattern to an already existing mesh…right..?

    1. Hey!

      No, it takes an image and apply the displacement depending on the image. But it is not a procedural but it will depend on the image you choose.

      luisM.

Leave a Reply

