Tutorials: Getting Started with RealFlow – An Introductory Training Suite

Hi everyone!

My colleague and friend Thomas Schlik made these impressive videos, to show a RealFlow Introductory Training Suit.

RealWave Introduction

RigidBody Introduction

Particles Fluid Introduction

Hybrido Introduction

Enjoy them!!!

luisM.

~ by luismma on September 20, 2012.

20 Responses to “Tutorials: Getting Started with RealFlow – An Introductory Training Suite”

  1. greats tuts!!! I wish I had these before starting work on resident evil 5 but still good to see I like the noise daemon to add turbulane to the hybrido sim that can do really interesting effects. I think they forgot to shot to turn your feilds back to cache before runing the final grid mesh but anyways great thanks for posting

  2. hey luisM

    I have one question about Renderkit 2.5.
    RenderKit 2.5 also supports Vray?

    • Hello Michael,

      of course, but it can’t be used like MentalRay or Maxwell. In order to use renderkit with Vray, you’ll need to see the mesh in the viewport before rendering.

      luisM.

  3. Very helpful tutorials ! do you plan to continue this ?

    I wonder about the Note about Scale (Milk Tutorial) , because Florian Köbisch explained in one of his tuts. scale is importent to get a realistic fluid behavior . http://vimeo.com/35978049

    best regards

    • Hi arne,

      Yes, there will be more videos to learn how to use RealFlow. ;)

      About the Note, it depends on the scene you are simulating but yes, the scale is important because depending if you scale is not real, the forces applied to the daemons will be different if you wanna a real behavior.

      luisM.

  4. Oooo man, these are greats, thanks a lot!!!

  5. Great Hybrido tutorial, finally filled in my missing understanding! Thanks!

  6. Hi,

    If I have a realwave which I like. Can I get the same wave displacemnet in a hybrido scene? It would be really good if I could do a displacement for a big ocean in realwave and do the splashes and waterline in hybrido.

    Lets say i have a boat going pretty slow in a pretty wide shot in a angle so I need to see alot of ocean.

    I could of course just set up a big scene in hybrido lets say 500 x 500 meter and do my splashes and have the boat go through the ocean and add a displacement map. Only thing is that this will be a really big waste of resolution.. I need an insane amount of particles to get the detail I need.

    it would be better to have a big displacement map for the ocean and then have a smaller hybrido sim with maybe 50 x 20 Meter res and have the boat travel through the particles and add splashes and waterline.

    My question is how do i get the displacement to match the big ocean displacement? Is this possible or how should I do this instead?

    Right now i´m thinking of sim the splashes and waterline without and render out a waterline texture with 3ds Max and krakatoa to use in Maya (where our scenes will be rendered using Vray) and the render the splash particles using krakatoa again and import the realwave.sd to use as a matte opbject together with the boat..

    Cheers and thanks for your Blog! and sorry if I asked this question in the wring place…

    • Hi Daniel,

      It is possible to do it. Simply you should save the tiff generated from RealWave in the same folder where the tiff for GFD will be read. In addition, in the Surface tab for the GFD, the distance field for the displacement “Calculate displacement fast”, should be put it to “Always” so the distance field is calculating every time that the tiff file is read. Most important thing is that the size must been the same. It means, if you have 512 for your resolution in the displacement tab , the tiff you generate with RealWave must be resolution 512 as well.

      Usually to generate a big sea, you can use a specific area where the action will happen, and then, with the displacement maps, you can tile a plane, for instance, with the same displacement to generate huge area of sea.

      luisM. ;)

      • Wow – thanks for your fast and informative reply! As always..

        In the GFD displacement tab should I have “calculate displacement” to use cache?
        Does it need the same settings in the Displacement tab GFD as I have on my Realwave? Or should I only change the Quality to be the same?

        If my realwave node is 200 x 200 meter Do I have to have the same size on my GFD or could that be smaller?

        Yes we are tiling a 200 x 200 meter map now and are doing some UV tweaks so we don´t see the repetitive patterns. What´s the best way tpo do that?

      • Hi Daniel,

        The size is not important. Think that the displacement maps are tileables and the textures must be 256, 512, 1024, so it means 256×256, 512×512, 1024×1024, etc.

        luisM. ;)

  7. another thing.. Should I rename my Realwave01_displacement_00000.tif files? Or can realflow understand to use that file?

    • Once you have simulated the displacement to use them with a Domain, they should be renamed to the name of the node you are goint to load the maps for.

      luisM. ;)

  8. i want real wave splash tutors.. pls give me

  9. As a beginner, generally seeking for articles online
    that may aid me. thanks

  10. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It is the little changes that will make the biggest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  11. Is there a way to adjust this interaction gap between objects and the Grid Fluid Domain, I have adjust the GFD Interaction setting for the objects, but I don’t get the results I want. The gap doesn’t change,I want it closer to the object. Thanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

